Why did it take me this long to get a nursing necklace?

My one year old son is a wiggly worm (what baby isn’t?).  This can make breastfeeding challenging, especially as he’s older and bigger and more capable of accidentally hurting me!  Friends had suggested a breastfeeding/teething necklace, but I never got around to buying one, until now.  I’m not sure why I waited a year to do this!

The Beabies Breastfeeding Necklace & Bracelet are made of food-grade silicone and don’t have any of the nasty ingredients we want to avoid going in baby’s mouth.  As soon as I put on the necklace, my son instantly stopped trying to ram his fingers up my nose.  WIN.  He fiddled happily with it the entire time he nursed, gnawed on it a few times, then decided it was much more amusing to put it in MY mouth instead.  But I’ll happily chew on a silicone necklace if that that keeps him calm while he eats! 🙂

Beabies Necklace

The beads on the necklace have a knot between each to keep them from sliding (or from the whole necklace falling to the floor if the cord snaps).  The beads are a little larger than I would typically wear from a fashion standpoint, but I also wouldn’t want them to be smaller because they’re more of a choking hazard then.

I would have preferred the bracelet to be made in a similar style with oblong beads, but that’s just personal preference.  I probably won’t wear this, though I may give it to my son as another chew toy!

The only downside to this product is that the finish of the silicone attracts EVERYTHING.  Dust, crumbs, small dogs (okay not that one).  It’s not hard to rinse off, but I wish it wasn’t as sticky.  I have other silicone products with a smoother non-sticky finish, so I’m not sure why these are like that.  Regardless, the product is still great, and I will enjoy using it!

I received a discount on this product in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

One thought on “Why did it take me this long to get a nursing necklace?

Leave a comment